Telangana gets 1st women Guv, Dattatreya also rewarded

By Sreenivasa Rao Dasari  Published on  1 Sep 2019 10:57 AM GMT
Telangana gets 1st women Guv, Dattatreya also rewarded

Hyderabad: In a major announcement the NDA government announced new Governors' to five states. Telangana has a new Governor Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan. Dr Soundararajan is the first women Governor for the newly carved 29th state. Former Union minister Bandaru Dattatreya has been appointed Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

Thanking Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union home minister Amit Shah, Mr Bandaru Dattatreya said that he would deliver his responsibility as per the Indian Constitution.

The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices, said deputy press secretary at the Office of President.

Similar read: 5 states including Telangana get a new Governor

Mr Dattatreya won Secunderabad Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 elections and became Union minister for labour in the NDA government. In September 2017, Mr Dattatreya, Nirmala Sitharaman and three other ministers resigned ahead of a Cabinet reshuffle. But, Mr Dattatreya did not get a berth in the reshuffle.

Further, in the 2019 elections, Mr Dattatreya did not get MP ticket. During the Assembly elections held on December 2018, the BJP fielded Mr Kishan Reddy, who lost in Ambarpet constituency. Mr Reddy won from Secunderabad Lok Sabha constituency and became Union minister of state for home.

Mr Dattatreya was elected Member of Parliament for the 10th, 12th, 13th Lok Sabha (1991-2004) from the Secunderabad Lok Sabha constituency. The BJP Telangana chapter has welcomed the appointment of Mr Dattatreya as Governor for Himachal Pradesh.

“We congratulate Mr Bandaru Dattatreya on his new responsibility. We hope that he will justify his responsibility as he used to function earlier in several positions. All BJP leaders, cadres and Telanganites wish him the best,” said K. Krishna Saagar Rao, chief spokesperson of the BJP Telangana chapter.

Meet Telangana's 1st women Governor

Dr Tamilisai Soundararajan who is a senior BJP leader in Tamil Nadu is appointed as the new governor of Telangana.

She gave up her medical practice and devoted herself full time to politics. In a short span of time, she emerged as a top-notch leader in the BJP. She was born on June 2, 1961, in Nagarkoil, Kanyakumari district in Tamil Nadu.

Her father Kumari Anandan was a popular Congress leader in Tamil Nadu and is a member of All India Medical Research Council.

Dr Soundararajan completed her MBBS from the Madras Medical College and PG (Gynecology) from MGR Medical University. She has trained in Sinology and FET therapy in Canada.

Before entering politics, Dr Soundararajan was an assistant professor at Ramachandra Medical College.

During her college days, Dr Soundararajan was active in student politics and was a student union leader at the Madras Medical College.

Though her father is a Congress leader, she has been influenced by the BJP policies.

Dr Soundararajan has held several positions in the Tamil Nadu BJP unit. She became Tamil Nadu BJP state chapter vice-president in 2010 and National General Secretary in 2013. Currently, Dr Soundararajan is the Tamil Nadu BJP state president.

Key post for Narasimhan!

Former IPS official E.S.L Narasimhan who was the longest-serving Governor of the Telugu states may be given a key post by the NDA government. Mr Narasimhan was Governor for united AP and both the Telugu states after bifurcation for 9.9 years and has many credits including being the last Governor of united AP. He was also the first Governor for Telangana and Governor for both the Telugu states for the first term. Recently, Mr Bishvabhushan Harichandan was appointed as Governor of AP and this gave rise to speculation that the Centre would replace Mr Narasimhan. But he continued as Governor of TS. During his stint as Governor, Mr Narasimhan has administered the oath to six chief ministers.

Next Story
Share it