Hyderabad: The term of office of 12 sitting members of the Telangana Legislative Council from nine constituencies will expire on 4 January 2022.

The retiring MLCs are Puranam Satish Kumar from Adilabad; Pochampally Srinivas Reddy from Warangal; Tera Chinnappa Reddy from Nalgonda; V. Bhoopal Reddy from Medak; Kalvakuntla Kavitha from Nizamabad; Balasani Laxminarayanan from Khammam; T. Bhanuprasad Rao and Naradasu Lakshman Rao from Karimnagar; Kasireddy Narayan Reddy and Kuchukulla Damodar Reddy from Mahbubnagar; and Sri Patnem Mahender Reddy and Sunkari Raju from Ranga Reddy. All 12 retiring MLCs are from Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

The biennial election to these seats will take place on 10 December 2021. Notification for the vacant seats will be made on 16 November and the last date of filing of nominations is 23 November. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on 24 November and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is 26 November.

The polling will take place on 10 December from 8 a.m to 4 p.m. The counting of votes is scheduled for 14 December. EC has said that all procedures related to the election will be completed before 16 December.

EC declared that the Model Code of Conduct for the biennial election will come into force with immediate effect in the concerned constituencies. Also, the EC has assured that the elections will be conducted as per COVID-19 guidelines.

Newsmeter Network

Next Story