Hyderabad: The Telangana State Cabinet on Friday has decided to fill in the three nominated MLC seats. Along with well-known people's poet Gorati Venkanna, Fishermen's Association national leader Baswaraju Saraiah, Chief Advisor, Vysya Seva Kendram, leader of Arya Vaishya Sangam leader Boggarapu Dayanand have been shortlisted by the state cabinet. The government has sent these names to Governor Tamilisai Soudararajan for approval.

Gorati Venkanna is Hamsa Award winner poet/composer. He also won the Kaloji Award, presented by the Telangana Government in 2006. Other awards included Ugadi Puraskaram in 2014, Cinare Award in 2019, Lok Nayak Award and many more. He is known for his books such as Ekunadam Motha, Relapoothalu, Alasendra Vanka, Pusina Punami, Vallanki Thalam and The Wave of the Crescent.

Boggarapu Dayanand is a leader of the Arya Vaishya Sangham who had joined Telugu Desam party in 2003. In 2014, he Joined Telangana Rashtra Samithi.

Baswaraju Saraiah is a former three-time MLA and former minister for Backward Classes welfare in the erstwhile government of Andhra Pradesh from 2012 to 2014. He was also elected three times as a corporator. He represented the washermen community through his politics. He hails from the Rajaka (washermen) community.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story