Justice Satish Chandra Sharma sworn in as Telangana HC CJ

Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan, Governor of Telangana administered the oath of office for the new chief justice at Raj Bhawan on Monday

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  11 Oct 2021 9:27 AM GMT
Justice Satish Chandra Sharma sworn in as Telangana HC CJ

Hyderabad: Justice Satish Chandra Sharma has been sworn in as the fourth Chief Justice of Telangana High Court at Raj Bhawan on Monday.

Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan, Governor of Telangana administered the oath of office for the new chief justice.

Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, cabinet ministers, chief secretary Somesh Kumar and the judges of the High Court were present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Justice Satish Chandra Sharma was born on 30 November 1961 in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. His father, Dr. B. N. Sharma, apart from being known as a well-established agriculturalist was also a renowned professor of Jabalpur University and subsequently the Vice-Chancellor of Barkatullah University, Bhopal. His mother Shanti Sharma was a principal in Maharani Lakshmibai Higher Secondary School and also worked as the district education officer at Jabalpur before retirement.

Justice Sharma went to Christ Church Boys Higher Secondary School till class X and completed class XII from Central School, Jabalpur. He enrolled as a student of Bachelor of Science in 1979 at Dr. Hari Singh Gour University, Sagar. He secured a BSc degree in 1981 with distinction in three subjects and was awarded the national merit scholarship for postgraduate studies.

In 1981, he enrolled as a law student in Dr. Hari Singh Gour University and graduated on top of the class in 1984 with three gold medals. He started working as an advocate on 1 September 1984 and practiced in Constitutional, service, civil, and criminal matters before the High Court of Madhya Pradesh in Jabalpur. He was appointed the additional Central government counsel on 28 May 1994 and was appointed senior panel counsel by the Central government on 28 June 2004.

In 2003, he was appointed a senior advocate by the High Court of Madhya Pradesh at the young age of 42 and was one of the youngest senior advocates of Madhya Pradesh High Court. He was then elevated as a judge of the MP High Court on 18 January 2008 and appointed a permanent judge on 15 January 2010.

Justice Sharma is an avid reader and is also known for his contributions to various universities. He is associated with National Law universities and is also on the advisory board of National Law Institute University Bhopal. He has published numerous research articles and papers.

He was transferred to Karnataka High Court on 4 January and assumed charge as the acting Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court on 31 August.

Meanwhile, the central government on Monday has notified the transfer of seven High Court judges.

The transferred judges are- Justice Rajan Gupta from Punjab & Haryana to Patna HC, Justice TS Sivagnanam from Madras to Calcutta HC, Justice Sureshwar Thakur from Himachal Pradesh to Punjab & Haryana HC, Justice PB Bajanthri from Karnataka to Patna HC, Justice Sanjeev Prakash Sharma from Rajasthan to Patna HC, Justice T Amarnath Goud from Telangana to Tripura HC, Justice Subhash Chand from Allahabad to Jharkhand HC.

The collegium recommendations to transfer five judges- Justices Rajan Gupta, PB Bajanthri, Sanjeev Prakash Sharma, T Amarnath Gouda, and Subhash Chand were taken in a meeting on September 16th and were reiterated in a meeting on September 21st.

The recommendation for the transfer of TS Sivagnanam was taken on September 16th.

However, the recommendation for the transfer of Sureshwar Thakur was made in a meeting of the collegium held on September 21st.

Next Story