Hyderabad: Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) President A Revanth Reddy on Tuesday blamed Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao for the backwardness of Palamuru (Mahabubnagar) district.

Addressing a 'Vidyarthi Nirudyoga Jung Siren' public meeting in Amistapur, Mahabubnagar on Tuesday, Revanth Reddy said Palamuru had given great leaders like Suravaram Pratap Reddy, Burgula Ramakrishna Rao, Mallu Ananta Ramulu, Mallikarjun Goud, Jaipal Reddy.

However, TRS leaders have brought bad name to the area by land grabbing and giving the sand mafia a free hand. Revanth Reddy explained the chronology of how the people of Palamuru district were cheated by KCR and TRS.

He said when the Krishna water was being diverted to Rayalaseema for Pothyreddypadu Project in 2004, half a dozen TRS leaders were ministers in YSR Cabinet. He said one TRS minister was in charge of the Kadapa district when Telangana's water was being plundered. He said KCR remained silent.

He said TRS MLAs and MPs resigned in 2008 to force by-elections. He said the party could retain only 7 assembly and 2 parliament seats. They were rejected by the people of Telangana in 2008 itself.

In 2009, TRS had an alliance with the TDP and contested 45 Assembly and 9 Lok Sabha seats. As many 35 TRS candidates could not secure their deposit and the party won only two Lok Sabha seats. Since KCR feared that he would lose from Karimnagar, he contested from Mahabubnagar. People of Palamuru supported KCR and sent him to Lok Sabha in 2009. However, he again betrayed the people and did not bring any development there, he alleged.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story