The counting of votes for the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda and Mahbubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad graduates' constituencies began on March 17 at 8 am. It is going to be a lengthy process to count a large number of votes preserved in the jumbo ballot boxes each consisting of 500 to 800 votes.

The early trends show Telangana Rashtra Samithi is leading from both constituencies.

1 PM : The results at the end of round 1 and 2 for Hyderabad- RangaReddy- Mahabubnagar Graduate constituency shows TRS in the lead:

TRS- 35,171

BJP4Telangana- 32,558

Prof Nageshwar- 16951

INCTelangana- 10062

JaiTDP- 1811

Invalid votes- 6749

Grand total- 112029

9 AM: After 1st round of counting, TRS is leading by 1,044 votes from the Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahabubnagar Graduate constituency.

G Chinna Reddy(Congress): 5,101

Prof Nageshwar(Ind): 8,357

N Ramchander Rao(BJP): 16,385

S Vani Devi(TRS): 17,429

After the second round of counting, the TRS candidate Rajeswar Reddy is leading by 7,871 votes from the Khammam-Warangal-Nalgonda Graduate constituency.

Palla Rajeswar Reddy(TRS): 31,987

Teenmar Mallanna(Ind): 24,116

M Kodanda Ram(TJS): 18,528

G Premendar Reddy(BJP): 13,284

Ramulu Naik(Congress): 7598

Around 1,530 polling centres were set up in 21 districts of the state and around 7,560 officials were deployed at these polling centres. A total of 93 candidates were in the fray for the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat while 71 candidates contested for the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda seat.

The Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahabubnagar seat recorded total polling of 67.26 per cent while the Khammam-Warangal-Nalgonda seat witnessed participation of 76.41 per cent voters.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story