Nagarjuna Sagar bypolls on April 17

The election commission of India on March 16 announced the date of the Nagarjuna Sagar by-election on April 17.

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  16 March 2021 11:56 AM GMT
Nagarjuna Sagar bypolls on April 17

Hyderabad: The Election Commission of India on Tuesday announced that the Nagarjuna Sagar by-poll will be held on 17 April, 2021. The commission also announced the date for the by-poll for the Tirupati constituency as 17 April.

The votes will be counted on 2 May. The last date for filing of nominations is 30 March while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is 3 April.

The Nagarjuna Sagar by-poll was necessitated after the sitting TRS MLA from the constituency, Nomula Narsimhaiah, passed away at a private hospital in Hyderabad on 1 December. The 64-year-old leader joined the TRS around 2014 when the agitation for a separate Telangana was at its peak. He lost the election from the Nagarjunasagar constituency but in 2018 he trumped the sitting Congress stalwart, K. Jana Reddy, by over 7,000 votes.

Since then the constituency where TRS and Congress party has a strong hold has turned crucial for political parties in Telangana. A word making round that the BJP party which won 48 seats in municipal elections is likely to field actress turned politician VijayaShanti.

However, on the day the election dates were announced, the Congress high command announced the name of senior leader K Jana Reddy as the party's candidate for the ensuing bypolls in Telangana.

Meanwhile, the Tirupati by-poll is being held after Lok Sabha MP Balli Durga Prasad Rao, who was undergoing treatment for COVID-19, died at a hospital in Chennai on 16 September.

On Tuesday the Election Commission announced that by-polls to 14 Assembly seats in 11 states, and 2 Parliamentary seats in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka will be held on 17 April. The assembly elections are also happening in the states of Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, West Bengal, and Assam.

Next Story
Share it