Hyderabad: President Ram Nath Kovind on Wednesday elevated seven district and sessions judges to Telangana High Court.

"In exercise of the power conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 and Article 224 of the Constitution of India, the President, after consultation with the Chief Justice of India, is pleased to appoint the following Judicial Officers/Advocates as Judges/ Additional Judges of the following High Courts w.e.f. the date they assume charge of their respective offices," reads the order from the Law Ministry.

The seven judges who are elevated to High Court judges include Registrar General of Telangana High Court A Venkateshwar Reddy, Hyderabad City Civil Court Chief Judge C Sumalatha, P Madhavi Devi from Income Tax Appellate Tribunal, and senior district judges P Sree Sudha, G Radha Rani, M Laxman, and N Tukaramji.

The strength of judges in Telangana High Court has now up from the present 11 to 18.

The names of Judicial Officers were cleared by the Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India N V Ramana in August 2021. Around one-and-a-half years ago, these names were proposed by Telangana High Court collegiums and forwarded to the Supreme Court.

Justice P Sree Sudha, who is presently heading the co-operative tribunal, was born on June 6, 1967. She was appointed as district judge of Nizamabad in 2002. She also rendered services as Director of the Judicial Academy in united Andhra Pradesh.

Justice C Sumalatha, presently Chief Judge at the City Civil Court in Hyderabad, was born on February 5, 1972, in Nellore. She was promoted as a district judge in 2006.

G. Radha Rani, presently principal judge of Ranga Reddy district courts, was born on June 29, 1963. She was promoted as a district judge in 2008.

Justice M Laxman, presently the presiding officer of the Labour Court in Hyderabad, was born on December 24, 1965. He is a native of Vikarabad. He was promoted as a district judge in 2008 and was the principal judge of Khammam.

Justice N Tukaramji, presently Hyderabad metropolitan court sessions judge, was born on February 24, 1973. He was promoted as a district judge in 2007 and worked as a district judge in Rajahmundry, Vizag.

Venkateshwar Reddy, presently registrar general of Telangana High Court, was born on April 1, 1961, in Mahbubnagar district. He worked as the principal judge of Ranga Reddy district.

Madhavi Devi, presently a judicial member in ITAT, practiced as an advocate at the High Court.

Madhavi Devi was born on Dec 28, 1965, in Hyderabad. She Completed LL.B., LL.M. and Joined Government Service on Mar 1, 2005. She is presently posted at Income Tax Appellate Tribunal (ITAT) Hyderabad bench.

Newsmeter Network

An independent digital media platform that brings you credible news stories and Analysis of current affairs as they unfold.

Next Story