13 new districts created in Andhra: Here is a full list

The decision to create 13 more districts was taken in a cabinet meeting on Tuesday. The new districts have been created based on the Parliamentary constituencies.

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  26 Jan 2022 6:32 AM GMT
13 new districts created in Andhra: Here is a full list

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh has now 26 districts in total, with the addition of 13 new districts notified by the government under the AP Districts Formation Act, Section 3(5). An official gazette has been released by the government on 26 January.

During the State Cabinet meeting held on Tuesday, a nod has been given for 13 new districts names of the new districts were finalized. The new districts have been formed based on Parliamentary constituencies, with new names given for a few districts.

Srikakulam town will be the headquarters of the Srikakulam district and Vizianagaram will be the headquarters of the Vizianagaram district. Manyam district has been named out of Vizianagaram district with Parvathipuram as its headquarters, giving importance to agency areas. Araku valley region in Visakhapatnam district has been named Alluri Sitharama Raju district with Paderu as its headquarters. The name was given in recognition of the freedom fighter Alluri Sitharama Raju.

The area of Visakhapatnam will now have an area of 928 sq km, which is the port city and its suburbs. Visakhapatnam district was once the largest district in the Madras Presidency of British India covering an area of 44,600 square kilometres. It is now the smallest district in Andhra Pradesh. Anakapalli is made a new district with Anakapalli town as headquarters.

East Godavari district has been divided into three districts namely Kakinada, Konaseema, and East Godavari, with Kakinada, Amalapuram, and Rajamahendravaram as their headquarters. The name Konaseema was given highlighting the nature of East Godavari. West Godavari district has been divided into two districts namely West Godavari with Bheemavaram as its headquarters and Eluru with Eluru as its headquarters.

Krishna district has been divided into two districts namely NTR district and Krishna district with Vijayawada and Machilipatnam being their headquarters, respectively. Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has named the NTR District, as per the promise he made during his padayatra. NTR was the founder of the Telugu Desam Party and a former Chief Minister for Andhra Pradesh.

Guntur district has been divided into three districts- Guntur with Guntur as its headquarters, Bapatla with Bapatla as its headquarters, Palnadu with Narasaraopet as its headquarters. Keeping in view of the long-pending demands of the Palnadu people and its history, the district was named Palnadu.

Kurnool district has been divided into Kurnool and Nandyal districts with Kurnool and Nandyal towns as their headquarters. Anantapur district has been divided into two districts as Anantapur and Sri Sathya Sai district, having Anantapur and Puttaparthi as their new headquarters. Rajampet parliamentary constituency has been made Annamayya district with Rayachoty as its headquarters. Chittoor district has been divided into Chittoor and Sri Balaji districts, with Chittoor and Tirupati as their headquarters. CM has named these districts keeping in view, the religious background of the areas.

Here is a list of the new districts and headquarters:

Srikakulam - Srikakulam

Vizianagaram - Vizianagaram

Manyam Dist - Parvathipuram (new)

Alluri Sitharama Raju District - Paderu (new)

Visakhapatnam - Visakhapatnam

Anakapalli - Anakapalli (new)

Kakinada - Kakinada (new)

Kona Seema - Amalapuram (new)

East Godavari - Rajamahendravaram

Eluru - Eluru (new)

West Godavari - Bheemavaram

NTR District - Vijayawada (new)

Krishna - Machilipatnam

Guntur - Guntur

Bapatla - Bapatla (new)

Palnadu - Narsaraopeta (new)

Prakasam - Ongole

SPS Nellore - Nellore

Kurnool - Kurnool

Nandyal - Nandyal (new)

Ananthapuram - Ananthapuram

Sri Satyasai District - Puttaparthy (new)

YSR Kadapa - Kadapa

Annamayya District - Rayachoty (new)

Chittoor - Chittoor

Sri Balaji Dist. - Tirupati (new)

Next Story
Share it