CBI books CBI officials for accepting bribe from accused in bank fraud

By Coreena Suares  Published on  15 Jan 2021 12:15 PM GMT
CBI books CBI officials for accepting bribe from accused in bank fraud

Hyderabad: In a rare case, the CBI has booked its own officials for criminal conspiracy and accepting bribes.The Central investigating agency received reliable information that R.K. Sangwan, the deputy superintendent of police, R.K. Rishi, DSP, Kapil Dhankad, inspector, and Sameer Kumar Singh, steno, connived with private persons Arvind Kumar Gupta and Manohar Malik and compromised on the integrity of investigation of certain cases.

The criminal conspiracy is in regard to a case booked against Shree Shyam Pulp and Board Mills Pvt. Ltd. It is alleged that R.K. Sangwan, DSP, who was an investigating officer of the case, offered and paid a bribe of Rs. 10 lakhs in cash on behalf of Ms. Mandeep Kaur Dhillon, the additional director of the company, to inspector Kapil Dhankad. The later in turn conveyed confidential information relating to the investigation of the case to the DSP with an intention to favor the accused.

Further, Rs. 10 lakhs was paid as bribe by DSP R.K. Rishi on behalf of Sujay Desai and Uday Desai, directors of Frost International Pvt. Ltd. to inspector Kapil Dhankad, who was seized of the issue, for extending favors to the said company.

Also, Rishi had received Rs. 15 lakhs twice through two advocates - Manohar Malik and Arvind Gupta - to extend favors to a Chandigarh-based company against which a corruption case was being investigated by the CBI. In this matter, Kapil Dhankad had also twice received Rs.2.5 lakhs from Arvind Gupta for having brokered the deal through R.K. Rishi.

It was also found that the details of the investigation of many other cases, including confidential notes and directions, were communicated by Sameer Kumar Singh, the steno, to R.K. Sangwan and R.K. Rishi on pecuniary considerations to protect the interests of the accused.

A case under various sections of the IPC and the Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Act 2018 is being registered against R.K Sangwan, R.K Rishi, Sameer, Kapil Dhankad, Arvind Kumar Gupta, Manohar Malik, Mandeep Kaur Dhillon, Sujay Desai, and Uday Desai.

Next Story
Share it