Double Victory: TRS wins both MLC seats

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  20 March 2021 8:00 PM GMT
Double Victory: TRS wins both MLC seats

Hyderabad: Palla Rajeshwar Reddy- TRS candidate and close confidant of Chief Minister K ChandraShekar Rao, won the Warangal-Nalgonda-Khammam graduate constituency election. The newly elected MLC secured 1.61 lakh votes and was declared the winner against his close rival Teenmar Mallanna who bagged 1.49 lakh votes.

Hours before, S Vani Devi - TRS candidate and daughter of former Prime Minister late P V Narasimha Rao was elected MLC from Hyderabad-Ranga Reddy-Mahbubnagar graduate constituency. The first timer secured 1.89 lakhs votes out of the total 3,37,039 and defeated BJP's sitting MLC N Ramachander Rao. With this ruling, Telangana Rashtra Samithi won both the graduate constituencies.

The counting of votes which continued for four consecutive days ended on 20th March evening. Celebrations broke out at the TRS bhavan located in Jubilee Hills and at the residence of the newly elected MLCs.

The 96-hour long counting process consisted of several elimination rounds. Independent candidate Professor Nageshwar gave a tough fight and secured third place, he bagged 67,383 votes. However, towards the end of the elimination process, TRS candidates got a lead of 11,703 votes and was declared the winner. While sitting BJP MLC N Ramchander Rao secured a total of 1,37,566 votes.

According to the records, TRS candidate Palla Rajeshwar Reddy secured 1.61 lakh votes while independent candidate Teenmar Mallanna- 1.49 lakh. Palla Rajeshwara Reddy led with 12,806 votes and was declared the winner.

Statistics shows that, out of the total valid votes, that is 3,66,333 votes, TRS man Palla Rajeshwar Reddy secured 44.1 %. TRS working president and minister K T Rama Rao congratulated the winners. He said, "Big congratulations to Surabhi Vani Devi Garu and Palla Rajeshwar Reddy Garu on emerging victorious in the graduate MLC elections. Gratitude to the voters for showing up in large numbers & reposing faith in KCR Garu's nominees Folded hands Compliments to TRS party leaders and cadre for their efforts. While wishes poured in from other senior party leaders".

MLC Surabhi Vani Devi on Saturday, met Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao at Pragathi Bhavan. She thanked the CM for nominating her as the MLC candidate and helping her to win the election. In response, the CM congratulated her. The CM also thanked all the voters in the Graduates constituency for electing Ms Vani Devi.

Next Story
Share it