Jagan 2.0: Meet the new cabinet ministers

The representation given to the SCs, STs, minorities, and backward classes by the Jagan-led govt is unheard of in Andhra Pradesh history

By Sri Lakshmi Muttevi  Published on  10 April 2022 2:30 PM GMT
Jagan 2.0: Meet the new cabinet ministers

Amaravati: A day before the new Andhra Pradesh Cabinet will be sworn in on Monday at 11.31 am, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy announced the list of new ministers for the reorganization of the cabinet. It is known that all 24 ministers resigned from Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, and the list was submitted to Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan on Saturday night and informed him about the cabinet overhaul. The old cabinet was sworn in on June 8, 2019, and was supposed to be in office till December 8, 2021. In March 2022, Jagan announced his decision on cabinet reorganization after Ugadi and the subsequent formation of new districts.

The newly formed cabinet has a mixture of senior and experienced leaders as well as fresh and young faces, for balanced governance. While the seniors will bring their expertise and experience to the table, the young leaders will bring fresh and innovative ideas and initiatives to the table, thus aiding in people-oriented governance. The previous ministers, however, will be given responsibilities in the party so that they can make use of their experience to ensure the party's victory in the upcoming assembly and general elections in 2024.

Representation to minorities

The representation given to the SCs, STs, minorities, and backward classes by the Jagan-led govt is unheard of in Andhra Pradesh history and the same continues in this cabinet as well. In 2019, when CM Jagan formed his cabinet of 25 ministers, 56% of them were from the SC, ST, OBC, and minority sections of the society. "Keeping the same motto of fair social representation, the CM has increased their representation in the new cabinet to 70%. In the previous cabinet, there were 5 SCs, 1 ST, 7 OBCs, 1 minority, and 11 Other castes MLAs as ministers. This time, the representation has been increased by 17 – 11 BCs, 5 SCs, 1 ST, and 8 OCs", said Government Advisor Sajjala Ramakrishna Reddy.

"CM Jagan took a landmark decision of appointing five deputy Chief Ministers, the first of its kind in the country. Out of these five deputy CMs, four leaders from SC, ST, minority, and BC were given a post each in 2019 and the same has continued in this cabinet as well. The same principle was followed even for the nominated posts and works", he added. Of the nominated posts and works, including the ZPPs, MPPs, AMCs, temple chairman, Municipal Chairman, Mayors, and Corporation chairman positions, CM Jagan reserved 50% of them for SCs, STs, BCs, and minorities. CM Jagan has also ensured that the govt also passed an act that, out of the 50% representation for the SCs, STs, BCs, and minorities, 50% reservation has been given to women, thus empowering them.

Priority for women

The women's representation is also something the Chief Minister has always focused on and hence their representation has been increased to 4, compared to the previous cabinet of 3. This way, the Chief Minister wants to empower women MLAs and also ensure equal representation in the cabinet.

New cabinet ministers

Dharmana Prasada Rao

Seediri Appalaraju

Botsa Satyanarayana

P. Rajanna dora

Gudivada Amarnath

Buddi Muthyala Naidu

Dadishetti Raja

Pinipe Vishwaroopam

Cheluboina venugopalakrishna

Taneti Vanitha

Karumuri Venkata Nageswara Rao

Kottu Satyanarayana

Jogi Ramesh

Ambati Rambabu

Meraga Nagarjuna

Vidadala Rajini

Kakani Govardhanreddy

Amjad Basha Shaik Bepari

Buggana Rajendranath

Gummanoori Jayaram

Peddireddy Ramachandrareddy


Roja K. Selvamani

KV Usha Sricharan

Adimulapu Suresh

Specific posts

Chief Whip : M Prasad Raju

Deputy Speaker : Kollugatla Veerabhadra Swamy

Planning Committee Vice chairman : Malladi Vishnu

AP State Development Board Chairman: Kodali Nani

Next Story
Share it