Mangalagiri MLA Ramakrishna Reddy rejoins YSRCP; party expecting more entries

RK created a sensation when he defeated Nara Lokesh in the previous elections

By Sri Lakshmi Muttevi  Published on  20 Feb 2024 10:20 AM GMT
Mangalagiri MLA Ramakrishna Reddy rejoins YSRCP; party expecting more entries

Amaravati: Returning to the ruling party after quitting it just a couple of months ago, Mangalagiri MLA Alla Ramakrishna Reddy returned to YSRCP and met chief minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on Tuesday to signal his official return.

Ramakrishna Reddy, also known as RK, left the party in December 2023 and joined Congress. RK created a sensation when he defeated Telugu Desam Party general secretary Nara Lokesh in the previous elections. He won two elections back-to-back from Mangalagiri constituency as a YSRCP nominee in 2014 and also in 2019.

“I came back to the party. I will support whomever will contest from Mangalagiri and will make sure we will win for the third time. Our party will return to power under the leadership of YS Jagan Mohan Reddy,” said RK, speaking to the media.

At the time of his resignation, RK is said to have been disappointed that he was not accommodated in the second AP Cabinet reshuffle. Further, he was also upset blaming the government for not releasing funds for the development of his constituency as promised by the YSRCP party chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Ramakrishna served as the chairman of the Andhra Pradesh Capital Region Development Authority (AP CRDA) from June 2019 until its reorganisation to form Amaravati Metropolitan Region Development Authority (AMRDA) on August 1, 2020. He was also the petitioner in the cash-for-vote case against former CM Chandrababu Naidu and Telangana CM Revanth Reddy.

Top leaders joining YSRCP

Ahead of the State Legislative Elections 2024, sources said that many leaders are set on joining the YSRCP, including:

1. Nujiveedu former MLA Mudraboina to join.

2. Machilipatnam former MP Konakalla Narayana planning to join.

3. Rayachoti former MLA Reddeppa Ramesh Reddy is likely to join.

4. Panyam former MLA Gauru Charitha’s family.

Ahead of the elections, there has been considerable movement of politicians between parties, including the migration of many leaders from TDP to YSRCP in the Kadapa district. Sainath Sharma from Kamalapuram and Redyam Venkata Subbareddy from Maidukuru are also ready to join YSRCP soon.

Next Story