Munugode By-elections: TRS names K Prabhakar Reddy as its candidate

CM KCR took this decision after examining the Survey Reports and opinions of local leaders, activists, district party leaders and people of the constituency.

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  7 Oct 2022 9:35 AM GMT
Munugode By-elections: TRS names K Prabhakar Reddy as its candidate

Hyderabad: TRS party supremo and Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao announced former MLA and constituency in-charge Koosukuntla Prabhakar Reddy as the TRS party candidate for the Munugode by-election.

KCR took the decision after examining the survey reports and opinions of local leaders, activists, district party leaders, and people of the constituency.

Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy has been a TRS activist since the party's inception and worked closely with the people at the field level. In 2003, he was in charge of the Munugode constituency. Later, in 2009 and 2014, he was elected to the Legislative Assembly from the Maheshwaram constituency. In 2018, he ran from Munugode and was defeated by a slim margin.

The Munugode by-elections will be held on 3 November. The results are scheduled to be announced on 6 November.

The by-election was necessitated by the resignation of MLA Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy on 8 August. He quit the Congress party and joined the BJP. He is also the BJP candidate for the upcoming by-elections.

The Indian National Congress, on 9 September, approved the candidature of Palvai Sravanthi for Munugode.

Munugode is part of the Bhongir Lok Sabha parliamentary constituency in the Nalgonda district. The constituency has 2,00,956 voters, including 1,02,801 male voters and 98,146 female voters.

In the 2018 election, Congress candidate Komatireddy Rajgopal Reddy defeated TRS candidate Koosakuntla Prabhakar Reddy. Rajgopal Reddy got 97,239 votes (48.90%), Koosakuntla Prabhakar Reddy got 74,687 votes (37.56%), and BJP's Gangidi Manohar Reddy got 12,725 votes (6.40%).

Meanwhile, by-elections to six other Assembly constituencies in India are also scheduled on 3 November. They are Andheri East in Maharashtra, Mokama and Gopalganj in Bihar, Adampur in Haryana, Gola Gokarannath in Uttar Pradesh, and Dhamnagar in Odisha.

Next Story