TDP's Panchumarthi Anuradha wins MLC seat by 23 votes, YSRCP wins 6

Panchumarthi Anuradha only had the support of 19 MLAs

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  23 March 2023 3:15 PM GMT
panchumarthi anuradha

Panchumarthi Anuradha. 

Amaravati: Giving a big shock to the ruling YSRCP, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) nominee Panchumarthi Anuradha won one of the MLC seats under the MLA quota by a margin of 23 votes, while the YSRCP won six MLC seats.

A total of 8 candidates contested for 7 MLC seats, including seven from YSRCP and one from TDP. Out of 175 MLAs, 172 MLAs, including CM YS Jagan and TDP supremo Nara Chandrababu cast their votes on Thursday. The polling ended at 4 pm.

YSRCP had fielded seven candidates and wanted to win all seven. However, it has got six seats. Kola Guruvulu lost the MLC elections.

Though TDP won 23 MLAs in 2019, 4 MLAs shifted to YSRCP. Yet TDP has managed to get 23 votes in this election. This is the second hit back to YSRC after the TDP recently swept Graduate MLC elections by winning all three MLC seats.

Panchumurthi Anuradha only had the support of 19 MLAs, and an MLC needs 22 votes to win. It indicates that there was cross-voting from the ruling party. Rebel legislators Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Kotam Reddy, Sridhar Reddy, Undavalli Sridevi, and Mekapati Chandra Sekar Reddy are speculated to have cross voted. However, the identities of the four MLAs who voted against the ruling party are yet to be confirmed.

TDP MLC Winner

Panchumarthi Anuradha - 23


Marri Rajasekhar - 22

Penumatsa Surya Narayana - 22

Chandragiri Yesuratnam - 22

Bommi Israel - 22

Potula Sunitha - 22

Jayamangala Venkataramana- 22

Each MLC needs 22 votes

Each MLC needs the votes of 22 MLAs to win. The TDP has 23 members, and Jana Sena has one member. However, 4 TDP members and one JSP member have shifted to YSRCP. In the 175-member Assembly, YSRCP has won 151 seats, but two have recently rebelled against the party from the Nellore district.

In the background of the clear superiority of YSRCP, it fielded candidates for seven seats. On the other hand, TDP did not have the strength, but it fielded the candidate and won the seat.

Next Story