Telangana to decide on lockdown on 11 May

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  10 May 2021 2:15 PM GMT
Telangana to decide on lockdown on 11 May

Hyderabad: After repeatedly declaring that Telangana will not impose a lockdown in the face of COVID-19, the office of Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao on Monday announced that a decision on whether the state will go under lockdown will be taken on 11 May.

In a statement, the CMO said, "The state Cabinet meeting will be held on 11 May at Pragathi Bhavan. The Cabinet ministers will discuss the surge in COVID-19 cases in the state and take a decision on the imposition of a lockdown. There are reports that suggest that despite certain states imposing lockdown there is no decrease in the cases. Against this backdrop, different opinions are emerging on the clampdown with some sections arguing in favour of the imposition of lockdown. Under these circumstances, the state Cabinet would discuss the pros and cons of the lockdown and also the adverse impact it may have on the ongoing procurement of paddy and it will take a decision."

It is to be noted that this is the first Cabinet meeting after former health minister Eatala Rajender was stripped of his ministry. Currently, the portfolio is being handled by KCR.

On 7 May, KCR had announced that there will be no lockdown in Telangana as it would paralyze public life and put the state's economy at risk. Earlier, state chief secretary Somesh Kumar had dismissed rumours of a possible lockdown and reiterated that there would be no lockdown, not even a weekend clampdown.

States and Union Territories under lockdown1

1. Karnataka Chief Minister B.S Yediyurappa announced lockdown-like restrictions with more stringent curbs from 10 to 24 May to prevent the spread of coronavirus.2

2. Tamil Nadu imposed a total lockdown from 10 May amid a surge in COVID-19 cases.3

3. Kerala went under lockdown from 8 May. Only essential services are permitted in the state. The lockdown will be in place till 16 May.4

4. On 3 May, Andhra Pradesh announced it will impose a partial curfew in the state for 14 days from 5 May. All shops will be open from 6 a.m to 12 p.m with Section 144 in force and only emergency services will be allowed from there on.

5.Telangana has imposed a night curfew from 9 p.m to 5 a.m till 15 May.6

6. The Delhi government has made two-week quarantine mandatory for people coming from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana after a new variant of COVID virus was detected in the two states.7

7. Maharastra has imposed a complete lockdown till 15 May.

Next Story
Share it