Telangana gets 8 new government medical colleges

With this, MBBS first-year classes in the eight new colleges have commenced.

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  15 Nov 2022 11:05 AM GMT
Telangana gets 8 new government medical colleges

Hyderabad: Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao inaugurated eight government medical colleges in Sangareddy, Mahabubabad, Mancherial, Jagityal, Wanaparthy, Kothagudem, Nagarkurnool, and Ramagundam during an online event from Pragathi Bhavan, Hyderabad.

With this, MBBS first-year classes in the eight new colleges have commenced.

Calling it a historic moment, the CM congratulated health minister Harish Rao, senior officials, medical students, and staff. He said that the number of government medical colleges has increased to 17, covering 16 districts of the state.

"We still need new medical colleges in another 17 districts for which the state Cabinet has already given approvals," he added.

The CM further recalled how there were issues with drinking water, irrigation, electricity, and education before the state was formed, and said the establishment of medical colleges in tribal-dominated and remote areas like Mahbubabad and Wanaparthy is a dream come true.

About the increased number of seats, KCR said, "This will provide opportunities to students from marginalised and weaker sections, such as Dalits, tribals, backward castes, and minority students."

The number of MBBS seats has increased from 850 to 2,790, the PG seats from 531 to 1,180, and super specialty seats from 70 to 152 in government medical colleges of Telangana.

The CM reiterated the need for better medical facilities, especially after the Covid-19 pandemic. "It's just as important to have enough doctors, nurses, and other medical staff to strengthen the medical field in a balanced way. Colleges for nurses are also being set up," he further said.

Speaking about the development in the state, KCR said, "Telangana practices and the country follows in all spheres."

Earlier, four medical colleges in Mahabubnagar, Siddipet, Nalgonda, and Suryapet were opened and are running successfully.

Health minister T. Harish Rao, R&B minister Vemula Prashant Reddy, transport minister Puvvada Ajay Kumar, former Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, MLCs Madhusudana Chary, chief secretary Somesh Kumar, health secretary Rizvi, medical education director Ramesh, health director Gadala Srinivasa Rao, and others participated in the event.

Next Story
Share it