Hyderabad: Dashing the hopes of opposition parties, who relied on anti-incumbency factor, the ruling TRS party continued repeating its magic of sweeping Zilla Parishad elections in the elections held for 120 municipalities and nine municipal corporations in Telangana.

As per the polls results announced Saturday, TRS bagged 111 municipalities and eight corporations. Despite of TRS winning over 90 per cent of municipalities and sweeping corporations, the local body elections witnessed few interesting developments such as some independent and rebel candidates proved their mettle, particularly in KTR’s Assembly constituency Sircilla, while the pink party made inroads into territory of TPCC chief Uttam Kumar Reddy as the pink party bagged Kodad and Huzurnagar municipalities. TRS also gave jitters to Congress MLA Jagga Reddy in Sanga Reddy municipality. While AIMIM won Bhainsa Municipality, where communal clashes were reported . BJP lost Bhainsa Municipality by just one seat.

The ward-3 in Laxettipet municipality, TRS and Congress got equal votes, and the opposition party candidate has bagged the seat in a lucky draw. Out of 39 wards in Sircilla Municipality, TRS bagged 24 wards, BJP 3 and Congress 2, while ten independent candidates won. Contrary to expectations that TRS would win all the wards, independent candidates are the second-largest lot after the pink party in Sircilla Municipality.

Interestingly, all these ten independent candidates are TRS rebels, who're expected to join the pink party anytime now.

While thanking Telangana people, MA&UD Minister and TRS working president, KT Rama Rao said: “It showed once again that people have faith and trust in our chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao. We rededicate ourselves to the development and welfare of Telanganites. I hope the opposition parties would play a responsible role.”

TRS leaders are confident now that the ruling party would easily win 130 divisions out of 150 in the next GHMC elections. In 2016 elections, TRS won 99 divisions in GHMC.

Panchayati raj Minister Errebelli Dayakar Rao said that the results were on expected lines and Telanganites are with the chief minister K Chandrashekhar Rao.

“I never saw such a huge victory for any party in the country in my 40 years of a political career. Congress and BJP were expecting some seats because of anti-incumbency. But there is no anti-incumbency in Telangana after six years of ruling by KCR. Telangana people know who is what? Welfare schemes and Mission Bhagiratha and Mission Kakatiya ensured the permanent place for KCR in the hearts of people, said Errabelli.

Interestingly, Yadadri voters gave mixed results for TRS as Congress and independent candidates managed to show the upper hand. Congress MP Komatireddy Venkat Reddy criticised TRS party for making attempts to lure independent candidates, who won with the support of Congress party.

Sreenivasa Rao Dasari

Dasari Sreenivasa Rao is a freelance journalist with 26 years of mainstream media experience in Hyderabad and Dubai. He was Business Editor at The Pioneer and Spl Correspondent at Deccan Chronicle and The Hans India. Earlier, he worked for prestigious media brands including ToI, Indian Express (Bombay) and SPG Media and Business Standard in Hyderabad. NSE-qualified Dasari specializes in derivatives trading. He was visiting faculty at IGNOU and handled two batches of journalism students. Dasari is passionate about business journalism and always suggests all to practice rigorous meditation that ensures peace of mind and helps in moving up the value chain.

Next Story