Visakhapatnam to be administrative capital, Amaravati legislative: GN Rao Committee

By Newsmeter Network  Published on  20 Dec 2019 1:58 PM GMT
Visakhapatnam to be administrative capital, Amaravati legislative: GN Rao Committee

Amaravati: The Experts Committee, headed by GN Rao, has recommended Andhra Pradesh government to decentralise development by having three capital cities for the legislature, executive and judiciary. It will allow for using available resources to the best use with concern for environmental and balanced regional growth.

Addressing the media, the GN Rao committee members said that Visakhapatnam would be the administrative capital from where the Secretariat will function, alongside the Chief Minister’s office. Meanwhile, Amaravati will be the legislative capital and Kurnool will have the High Court with one bench each at Amaravati and Visakhapatnam.

Assembly’s budget and winter sessions will be held at Amaravati and Visakhapatnam, while Raj Bhavan and Assembly will be between Mangalagiri and Nagarjuna University, which is not flood-prone. The committee added that flood-prone areas should be avoided and the existing infrastructure should be put to best use, noting that the environment is a significant concern. They have considered Thulluru as a flood-prone area.

Considering the Karnataka model, the state will be divided into four zones with Srikakulam, Vizianagaram and Visakhapatnam forming the North zone. It is followed by East and West Godavari districts and Krishna as the Central Coastal Region, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore coming under South Coastal. Lastly, the four Southwestern districts will form Rayalaseema. The four regions will have a commissionerate each, taking care of all issues of the respective areas.

The committee has taken into consideration all aspects, and visited all regions, seeking a public opinion from 30,000 representations. They had extensively toured 29 villages and recommended returning land where there is no need for it.

The development model would be vertical from Ichchapuram to Nellore, developing urban settlements, and horizontal by connecting the Krishna-Godavari basin, thus establishing a canal system and solar energy. Meanwhile, Rayalaseema should get the water and comprehensive development, the members said.

The committee includes Vijay Mohan, R Anjali Mohan, Dr Mahavir, Dr Subba Rao, and Arunachalam. They submitted their report on Friday.

Next Story
Share it